CBRL UK Management Committee

Governing Organisation

CBRL is a registered charity sponsored by the British Academy and governed by Articles of Association. Members nominate and elect a voluntary Committee of Management, most of whom are members of the British academic community. The director, committee and its sub-committees meet regularly to determine CBRL policy and strategy.

Honorary Officers


Professor Clive Holes FBA

University of Oxford



Mr James Watt CVO

The Ambassador Partnership


Honorary Secretary

Dr Alex Bellem
Durham University


Honorary Treasurer

Ms Fiona Salzen LLB ACA MCSI


Honorary Research  Chair

Dr Louise Martin
University College London


Honorary Editor - Levant

Prof Graham Philip
Durham University


Honorary Editor - Contemporary Levant

Dr Michelle Obeid
University of Manchester

Committee of Management / Ordinary Trustees 

Dr Jennie Bradbury

EAMENA, University of Oxford


Dr Jo Clarke

University of East Anglia


Dr George Findlater
Historic Scotland


Prof Rosemary Hollis
City University


Dr Matthew Jones

University of Nottingham


Dr Nicola Pratt

University of Warwick


Prof Graeme Barker FBA

McDonald Institute, University of Cambridge


Dr Elian Weizman

SOAS, University of London


Dr May Darwich

Durham University 


Vivien Morgan

Communications Professional